How to Make a Vision Board For Manifestation In 2021 and Beyond

Patricia Leonard
14 min readSep 1, 2021

--

In this article, I will show you how to make a vision board for manifestation. I have used vision boards for as long as I can remember and they have really served as a source of motivation and inspiration in achieving my dreams and aspirations.

If you are reading this article, then you probably would have heard of a vision board and you are looking to either know more about it or even get started making your own vision board. Regardless of the reason you are here, I like to inform you that this article is VERY DETAILED and I will advise that you read this till the very end so you don’t miss any information.

Keeping vision boards every year has taught me a lot about myself. The more I keep these vision boards, the more gratitude I feel about my achievements and the more I get to understand that nothing is too big to be achieved.

If you are on the manifestation journey and hoping to achieve your dreams someday then you need to keep a vision board. Vision board is one of the tools to fast track your manifestation process and help you hit those dreams and goals you’ve been wishing for.

I will walk you through the process of making a vision board for manifestation that actually works like a charm. Everything from the Dos to the Donts of making a vision board. You’ll also get to know some of my tips and tricks to getting this to work for you. I’ve been making vision boards since 2007 and I will like to help you get started with yours today so let’s get this party started.

What is a Vision Board?

A vision board is a collage of images, pictures, and affirmations of one’s dreams and aspirations. In other words, it is a physical way to put your dream and goals out to the universe. Vision boards could also be known as dream boards.

This method of using vision boards actually falls on the “Law of Attraction”. If you are new to this, the law of attraction is just like the law of gravity which is always working whether we like it or not. It is one of the most powerful laws in the universe.

It is the belief that you will attract into your life whatever you focus on. Whatever you dedicated your energy to will come back to you be it negative or positive. It is a simple philosophy of “like attract like”. If you feel positivity, abundance, happiness, and other good feelings you’ll definitely attract more of that into your life.

On the other hand, if you feel sad, depressed, angry, or negative generally, you’ll also attract that into your life. It is really simple. This idea or philosophy would rather seem ridiculous to most people and that was how I saw it at first but believe me when I say it actually works. In a bit, I will explain how this works together with a vision board.

Do Vision Boards Work?

The answer is capital YES!!

This is a question that I get from a lot of people trying to start a vision board. Many people wouldn’t want to waste their time on manifestation techniques that don’t work and I wouldn’t want to either.

Starting from my first-ever vision board I created back then in 2007 to the one I created the last year 2020(all depending on the year you are reading this) even in the midst of the pandemic, I have literally achieved a lot of dreams and goals I had on all my vision boards. Though some of those goals weren’t really accomplished within the exact year I planned but they definitely came to reality.

Sometimes, I pick up my previous vision boards and tears trickle down my eyes as I see how far I have gone. I also feel huge gratitude for where I am today in my manifestation journey. This puts me in the right mindset to go after other dreams and aspirations yet accomplished. This is really a sign that vision boards work.

I am glad to share with you all I know about vision boards, how to make them properly and how to actually use them to manifest your dreams and desires. Since it has worked for me, it will definitely work for you.

How to use a Vision Board to Achieve Your Dreams

In order to achieve your dreams and goals, you need to have them at the top of your mind regularly. This will continually remind you about what you have to do and you’ll find yourself taking micro-steps to make it happen.

Keeping a vision board, actually makes you think about what you really want in life and document them. We all have various moments when we think about what we want in our lives but, we really can’t get hold of everything we need. The reason is that we fail to keep a record or write down all the things we truly desire. Representing these things on a vision board will make our true desires clear to us.

A vision board literally reminds you about everything you want to achieve in your life and it makes you get emotionally fired up each time you see them. This is a very good driving force to achieving your ideal life. Using a vision board also stimulates your subconscious mind to keep visualizing these things.

This is where the law of attraction steps in. As you constantly visualize your ideal life, you will consciously and unconsciously start taking the right steps to achieve your goals and desires and you will begin to attract the right people, resources, and situations that in turn takes you towards your goals. That’s literally how you use the vision board.

What You Need to Make a Vision Board

Before I go into detail on how you actually make a vision board, I will go over the materials you need in order to help you make a vision board properly.

  • Board - any kind of board like a poster board, pinboard, or corkboard
  • Pen and paper
  • Magazines - this is where you can cut your quotes and some images from
  • Scissors
  • Tape, Pins, or glue stick (really depend on the kind of board you choose)
  • A color printer
  • Google/Instagram/Pinterest
  • Time - You have to dedicate a good amount of time to this
  • Inspirational stuff - images, photos, quotes, or anything that inspires you
  • The right mindset - You definitely need to feel good before making your vision board (no negativity of any kind)

Steps to Properly Making a Vision Board

I will go over the most basic way to make a vision board. But, you must also understand that this vision board is for you and you have to make it your own. Like I earlier listed, you need the right mindset before you even begin and this really can’t be over-emphasized because you wouldn’t want to be all moody and negative while trying to plan your future life.

1) Set and prioritize your goals

The first thing I do whenever I want to make a new vision board is that I take my pen and paper and then I try to write out all my goals/dreams /aspirations for the year. At this stage, I make sure I write everything I ever want to achieve no matter how big or small.

The reason for this is that no matter what your goals are, you have to be clear about them. You also have to be specific with your goals when setting them. For example, a regular goal can be something like this “I want to manifest thousands of dollars this year”. While this is a normal goal that anyone can just think of, it is not specific.

When setting your goals, you have to be very specific. Instead of saying “I want to manifest thousands of dollars this year”, try saying “ I want to manifest $100K this year”. This goal is more specific. You want to make sure you feel the goals and customize them to yourself.

Try visualizing each of the goals as you set them and make sure you are very specific about the kind of car, house, mental status, relationship status, or who you want to meet, what you want to do, where you want to be or any goal you have at all.

You may be wondering “ But which kind of goals or dreams should I write?” or “Is there a limit to what I can write?”. To answer this, I will give you some quick ideas to use on your vision board. All these ideas will guide you on possible things to write for your vision board.

  • Your biggest dreams and wishes (Things that looks too big to manifest )
  • What you want to focus on this year (A very important area of your life)
  • What you want to learn (a new skill, language, history of a place)
  • Feelings you like to have more in your life (gratefulness, security, vitality, )
  • A focus word, phrase, or quote of the year (a quote that really touches you)
  • Things you want to have or buy (a MacBook Pro, a new Tesla, rollerblades)
  • Experiences you want to have (run a marathon, travel to Paris,)
  • What you want to become A philanthropist, a successful entrepreneur
  • Your own happy pictures or a picture that represents you
  • Your most realistic goals (lose 10 pounds, start your own business)

After writing all your goals, you’ll want to prioritize them to make sure you have the most important ones laid down and set to go on your vision board.

2) Find pictures and quotes that represent your goals

This part is one of my favorites. At this point, you have to go through a magazine and find any image, quote, or picture that you love and have a good feeling about. The images should also represent your goals. For example, if one of your goals is to live in a house in the islands then try finding a perfect representation of that kind of house in a magazine. You can do this with as many magazines as you have.

A lot of people don’t really think it is necessary to find a perfect representation of the things you want to manifest for your vision board. But, I personally prefer finding pictures that are perfect or nearly perfect images and that is because I get a good feeling when I do this and that feeling is very important when making a vision board. This is why I said you need to put your own spin on it.

Definitely, you wouldn’t be able to find all the images you need in just a magazine. This is where Google, Instagram, or Pinterest comes in. Whenever I am flipping through a magazine and I seem to get stuck finding my ideal image, I just hop on to the internet and find what I am looking for.

There are millions of images, quotes, and pictures all over the internet which makes it pretty easy to find something that you would like. When you find an ideal image on the internet, just go ahead and download it to your computer. Repeat the process till you have totally found all possible images, pictures, and quotes.

3) Print out your image

After finding and downloading all the images you need for your vision board, It is time to print them out. Like I listed earlier, you will need quality printing paper and a color printer so you can get really good printouts.

I always try to use the very best quality stuff for my vision board because I know that the vision boards I make will be around for the whole year and I wouldn’t want it to start looking funny at some point. I attach great importance to anything representing my future. And I think you should too.

When printing these images, also you are very mindful of the sizes. The sizes will solely depend on the size of your vision board.

4) Cut out the pictures and images

At this point, you’ll have to get your scissors and then start cutting out all the images you have selected for your vision board. You have to cut the ones you found in the magazine and the ones you printed from the internet too.

I must warn you that you may definitely get the feeling that you are cutting too much for your vision board but, you don't have to worry. I am a very imaginative person and I found out that most times I start cutting out images for my vision board, I get this feeling too. But, I just keep cutting what I printed even if some of them don't finally end up on my vision board (lol).

5) Organize your vision board

Now that you have the cutouts of all the images that you feel good about, it is time to organize your vision board. What you have to do from here is to sort and arrange all your images, pictures, and quotes into sections. You may have more than one image for a specific goal and that is fine.

The sections of your vision board could be personal goals, work goals, travel goals, inspirational people, and so on. Just put the right images where they are supposed to be. Something I always do in my vision board which a lot of people don’t do (and it is totally up to you) is that I have a quote in the center of the board. This quote serves as a kind of theme for me that year. When making a new vision board, the quote also changes with my goals.

6) Put them all together

After sorting and arranging your images, the very next step is to put them all together in my vision board, when putting all the images on my vision board, other materials like a glue stick, pins, and tapes come in handy.

As I said, it all depends on the kind of board you choose, If you choose a pinboard, you’ll most definitely use pins to put your images and quotes on your vision board. But, if you use other boards, you may consider using glue or tape.

When putting your images together on your vision board, do make sure to put them firmly because you wouldn’t want to keep picking fallen images and putting them back throughout the year. The reality of it is that this vision board holds your dreams and aspirations so treat it nicely.

7) Display your vision board

If you went through all the steps listed above, then I must congratulate you for making a new vision board for your manifestation journey. This is a very important step you took and you are able to fire up your manifestation journey.

Now that you have your vision board, the next thing is to find somewhere to place it. It has to be placed on the wall somewhere you can see it regularly. This part is totally up to you. Some people prefer to have it in their offices simply because they spend more time at work.

As for me, I prefer hanging it on the wall in my bedroom. The reason is that I get to see it every morning when I wake and every night before I sleep which is a very good practice when using a vision board for manifestation. I will explain more about using a vision board in a bit.

Using Your Vision Board For Manifestation

For you to get the best possible results from your vision board, you have to take some form of action. The idea of vision boards comes from the law of attraction which also requires that you take some form of action before you get a result.

A couple of ladies who made vision boards in my neighborhood back in 2007 were motivated to do this after attending a seminar(which I was also part of). The only difference between me and them is that I applied the right techniques and took action while most of them just kept their vision boards in a box or kept hoping the Universe will bring everything they wanted to their doorstep without them having to do any work.

I still see this kind of people today and I don't want you to fall into this same trap. You need to do something to really activate the law of attraction in your life. Here’s how to use your vision board properly

Using vision boards in the morning

As part of your routine, always spend a couple of minutes at the vision board affirming, visualizing, and internalizing everything you have on your vision board. Spending this time at the front of your vision board every day will remind you of what to focus on and will also save you a lot of time because it keeps your focus from the very beginning of your day.

During the day, you may remember some of your goals because you already placed them in your subconscious and then you’ll find yourself doing the right things and aligning with your goals.

Using vision boards in the evenings

As humans, anything or set of things we happened to have in our mind at least an hour before going to bed will stick with us through the night and we may even end up have good dreams or even nightmares simply because of these thoughts.

Have you ever had times when you woke up in the middle of the night and then some random thought just popped out of the blues? if you can relate to this then you will know that most times, these thoughts are really not random. They are thoughts we had within about an hour before we went to bed.

It is very advisable that you take control of your mind and also assign the right things to your subconscious mind. One of the best things you can do before bed is going through your vision board for at least 30 minutes to an hour and vividly visualizing and using your quotes and affirmations.

Try to forget all you went through that day and give your all to your dreams and goals. Doing this before bed will help your subconscious work on these goals even while you sleep and you may even wake up in the morning with a fantastic idea or plan to achieving one of your goals.

For more vision board ideas you can also read this article

Final Thoughts

If you made it this far, then I really appreciate your effort to read this article. I also hope I’ve been to inspire you to make your very own vision board and start manifesting your dreams and desires this year and beyond.

If you also have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments and I’ll be around to answer them as soon as possible. Have a wonderful day.

--

--

Patricia Leonard

A very passionate teacher and entrepreneur. I help people of all works of life get a positive mindset and create the life they desire.